Sun Room Reveal

21 Jul

sun room

Done, done, done, done, done! After a little window cleaning and paint touch-ups, we finished up the sun room this weekend. Surprisingly, we got the entire thing done in about a month (including a whirlwind wedding weekend and Eric traveling a week for work). Ironically, it’s the first room in the entire house that’s 100% done.  You see where our priorities are. 🙂

As a reminder, here’s where we started. Giant spiderwebs, broken doors, disgusting carpet, mildew, broken window treatments, the works!

 

And here’s where we are today:

sun room decor renovation

sun room, decor

sun room, decor

sun room, decor, bar cart, cabinet sun room, cabinet, summer to do list, storage

 

 sun room

sun room table, decor

I love how much of this is DIY, like the table, cabinet, storage basketsflooring, and even the art.

I even updated a few things, like these lanterns…

and this vase.  It was just your basic glass vase, but I painted the inside with metallic gold spray paint.

It’s also functional for everyone in the family.  Eric and I have a nice lounging spot.  We can also entertain in the space and have a place to put drinks and snacks without grubby little fingers reaching it :).  Matthew even has his own little space.  We left the far corner empty-ish after seeing how much fun he had rolling balls, spinning in circles, and riding his car.  The ottoman is empty now, but I anticipate it holding more toys.  Under the table is a bin for balls and the most-played-with toys.  In the cabinet drawers are things like bubbles and extra chalk.

It wasn’t just cosmetic work that needed done.  We cleaned the gutters and fixed some flushing on the main roof that was directing water to the ceiling–creating a small drip inside.  I also think we went through 3-4 tubes of caulk.  On top of that, we had to thoroughly clean everything–the rail on the sliding door had at least 10 years of crud caked in it.

The best part about doing an outdoor space upgrade in July is that for the stores, Summer is already over, which means everything is heavily discounted.  We picked up 5 new throw pillows–all 50-75% off.  Even the patio plants were discounted as low as $1 at Lowes. We did splurge on the sectional, but it was totally worth it. 🙂

I have to admit, having this room done and accessorized just the way we want has taken it from “this is the house we live in” to “this is really starting to feel like our house.”

14 Responses to “Sun Room Reveal”

  1. Cindy Mihailoff July 21, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    Looks like this is a room in a magazine or right off pinterest, just beautiful!

    • Ashley Niehaus July 21, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks, Cindy!! I guess all of my wasted Pinterest time isn’t so wasted after all! 🙂

  2. Cynthia Dryden July 22, 2013 at 7:43 am #

    I LOVE this!

    • Ashley Niehaus July 22, 2013 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks, Cynthia! You took the words right out of my mouth. 🙂

  3. craftivitydesigns July 24, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    It’s beautiful! And oh my goodness I was thinking I really loved that art — then I realized it is kiddie DIY! Awesome!
    Lora

    • Ashley Niehaus July 24, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      Thanks, Lora! Yes, I think the kiddo put me to shame in the DIY department. 🙂

  4. ann July 25, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    I LOVE that floor– is it laminate? The whole room looks fab.

    • Ashley Niehaus July 25, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks so much! The flooring is actually vinyl plank–like pee & stick. Went down in about an hour and so far is holding up great (even though we had a roof leak on it halfway through renovation!)

  5. Roeshel July 28, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    What a beautiful space, Ashley! I love all of the DIY details! You’ve done an awesome job! I’m including a link back in this week’s DIY highlights! Thanks so much for sharing your hard work!

    • Ashley Niehaus July 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      Awesome! Thanks so much!

  6. megan July 30, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks so much for linking this up at the Ginger Jamboree! I featured this today on my blog! Feel free to grab a “featured” button!

    • Ashley Niehaus July 30, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

      Thanks, Megan! That’s awesome.

  7. Lauren Monique August 6, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Wow, beautiful! Makes me want a sunroom 🙂

    • Ashley Niehaus August 7, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks, Lauren!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.