DIY Ice Cube Puzzle

19 Jul

ice puzzle

With the days heating up and a little one who is slightly afraid of water (at least at first!), I’m trying to come up with creative solutions to stay cool.  He’s very much in an “ice” stage right now, including singing “ice, ice babies…doo doo doo doo da doo doo”. 🙂

ice puzzle activity toddler

I picked these ice cube trays up at Hobby Lobby back in April-ish for just a couple dollars.  I also got letters, but since he’s loving numbers and counting right now, I decided to focus there.

First, we filled them up.  I wanted to use colored water to make it a bit more fun, but didn’t want to use artificial dyes (because he inevitably did taste them!)–so strawberries and blueberries it was!  Then we did a little fine motor skill practice.

After an overnight in the freezer (although they freeze in just an hour or so), it was on to the next step.

I dumped them all out, and he immediately went to work putting them back in.  I stepped in occasionally to ask if he could find “2” or correct him from trying to stick “8” into the “3” slot.  I was impressed with how into this he was, how well he could get them to fit into the mold, and how many times he wanted to do it (4 or 5).

By this time it was melting, but I wanted to occupy him a bit more.  So I grabbed our trusty roll of paper, and we did a little ice painting.  Unfortunately the colors weren’t strong enough to really show up well, so I added a blob of purple finger paint to the mix. I mean ice and painting–does life get any better?

diy ice puzzle toddler activity summer

3 Responses to “DIY Ice Cube Puzzle”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome July 20, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    That’s an awesome idea! Matty stays so interested in what you put together for him. My son moves from one thing to another in 5 minutes! Yesterday we did construction with “snow”, race car painting, race car washing, shaving cream art, shaving cream play in the bathtub all which totaled about an 30 minutes!

    • Ashley Niehaus July 20, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      Oh, don’t be fooled! We have those days a lot, too. I can usually get him to focus anywhere from 10-30 minutes (oh how I crave those 30 minute activities!). I’ve just always included Matty in day-to-day activities (like sweeping, unloading the dishwasher, laundry, etc.), so I think that helps him focus a little bit since we don’t move on until that thing is done. Then he’s also happy to be doing a “fun” activity so he stays focused so he doesn’t have to clean anymore. 🙂

    • Ashley Niehaus July 20, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

      Oh, and racecar painting! Fun. We may have to give that a try soon.

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

