Play Room Inspiration

30 Jul

playroom

Before becoming a Mom, I sometimes scoffed at people who created elaborate playroom for their children.  Make them go outside, I thought, or keep everything contained to the their bedroom, or don’t buy so many toys! Hahahahaha. Oh, you learn so much once you have a child.

Play rooms are great! Fantastic! Everybody should have one!  That being said, we’re currently working on turning the never-used family room into a full-blown playroom.  We have some bigger toys, like our IKEA slide, a play kitchen, and a train/activity table that just keeps getting moved around  because we can’t find the perfect spot for them.  I also want a place to do some more structured activities and crafts with Matthew, as well as have some crafting supplies that he can sit and do independently.

I’ve been pinning ideas for awhile, but here’s some of my favorites.

playroom inspiration

1.  Childhood 101 2. No original pin 3. Playful Learning 4. Pottery Barn 5. Apartment Therapy 6. No original pin

Check out much more inspiration on my playroom Pinterest board, and follow along while you’re there!

Things To Do:

  • Kid-friendly art above mantel (to cover TV mount & jack from the TV that went into the Man Cave)
  • Kid-friendly accessories for mantel and built-ins
  • Arts & crafts supplies storage
  • Off-season book storage
  • Art above play kitchen
  • Play kitchen storage for foods and utensils
  • Art table & chairs
  • Way to display Matty’s art
  • Reading nook
  • Place for big-ass slide
  • Still room for roaming/spinning/jumping/toddler shenanigans
  • Rug to cover bare floor
  • Refinish train table surface (we bought it used and it’s a little beat up/warped)
  • Touch up paint from previous art on walls and tv mount
  • Caulk trim and touch-up nail holes from when it was rehung
  • Curtains

We have a very small budget for this project–I’m thinking I’ll only need to buy a rug, curtains, and supplies to build a small table.  Hopefully we’ll stick to our budget this time.  We’ll see. 🙂

Any favorite play room inspiration pins?  Play room must-haves?

3 Responses to “Play Room Inspiration”

  1. upliftingfam July 30, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    I wish I had room in my house for a playroom. My youngest son’s toys usually migrate to the living room.

    • Ashley Niehaus July 30, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Ah, yes. The great toy migration! This room is only about 13×8, so really too small to be much use for anything other than toy storage!

  2. buckiddo July 31, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh gosh, I don’t even want to think about this! I hate clutter, and we don’t have an extra room to use for a playroom! I’m just going to plug my ears and sing la, la, la…

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

