Everlasting Christmas Joy

3 Jun

Is it too late to post about Christmas presents? Probably.  But after 6 months of using this particular gift, I just have to share.  Hubby and I decided we weren’t going to do presents for each other this year, and instead save the money towards a vacation or a house project.  Of course, he broke this pact, but I have to give him credit–his surprise was well-thought out and downright awesome.

This is an SD card. It can be used in any camera that uses SD.  But it’s not just any SD card, my friends, Oh no.  This is a magical SD card.  It’s saved me HOURS of time.  It’s given me back my sanity (well, some of it).  It’s made life more fun. Okay, that last one is a bit of hyperbole, but still true.

You see, this card slips neatly into your camera in place of your current SD card. Then when you take a picture, POOF! It’s magically uploaded to any device you choose.

Think about that for a minute…

  • no more taking the chip out of your camera and sticking it into your computer to upload pictures…
  • no more grabbing said camera to take a picture of your adorable child doing something adorable, only to realize you forgot to put the chip back in your camera…
  • no more curling up in bed at 10pm to write a blog post, only to realize you forgot to download the pictures you need…
  • no more running out of storage space on the camera (they can automatically be deleted once they’re uploaded)…
  • Magic!
  • Did I just give too much away about my life? 🙂

Of course Hubby bought the super-mega card because he said he wasn’t sure how well it would work, but he agrees that the average user could get one of the lower-tier SD cards.  We take a lot of HD video and use a Nikon D90, so he wanted to ensure the card could handle it… something about Class 10 Rating.

It comes with easy software to install on any computer, and  you can then choose where you want your pictures to upload (your computer, two computers, cloud storage, facebook, Flikr, etc.).  Eye-Fi has partnerships with a lot of online storage sites, so the sync-up is easy-peasy.  Oh, and if you take pictures away from home, all you do it flip your camera on for a couple of minutes when you get home (aka, back on your wireless internet network) and the pictures upload.

smugmug

Along with the Eye-Fi card, Hubby also signed up for a subscription to SmugMug.  So we have our Eye-Fi card automatically upload all pictures to SmugMug (aka cloud storage).  That means that at any time, any place, on any device (laptop, phone, iPad), I have access to all pictures and video that we’ve ever taken (we uploaded all past pics and vids, too).

They don’t compress your pictures–they keep the full image or video, and you can even order prints and photo gifts through them (though I haven’t done this).  SmugMug has great features: I can tag pictures to search (like “Lima House” or “Wedding”); I can search by date taken; I can create galleries and slideshows to share with friends and family; and best of all I can upload pictures to my blog directly from SmugMug in about 2 seconds. Awesome, unless you’re one of those fancy blogs that have to Photoshop all of your pictures first, though you can watermark directly from SmugMug, which is kind of cool.  If you don’t have a blog, but you’d still like to share pictures with family and friends, you can customize your homepage with themes and layouts.

smugmug1

The cost is about $8/month for unlimited storage, but it’s worth it in terms of peace of mind–in the event of an emergency, we have all of our family memories backed up.  We even got crafty and took pictures of important documents, just to at least have that information, if needed.

I’m not a spokesperson or being paid for this review,but we’ve talked with a few friends about it recently so I thought I’d share. I did, however, steal their graphics, so I suppose it’s even. 🙂

2 Responses to “Everlasting Christmas Joy”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome June 4, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    Ummm… that is the best Christmas gift ever! I need to get one of those ASAP! I’m sure you know as a blogger, I’m constantly transferring my chip between my camera and computer. It gets old!

    • Ashley Niehaus June 4, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

      Oh I understand, and it’s so much better now!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

