Munchkin Meals: Muffins!

2 May

Fruity Muffins

A few weeks ago, I finally figured it out.  What’s “it” you may ask? “It” is why my little guy has been going into the pantry, pointing at a sack of cornmeal, and begging to eat.  Over and over, I would reply with, “that’s not a snack, that’s for cooking.” After a particularly bad crying fit, I finally lifted him up, and told him to show me.  He jabbed the sack of cornmeal. Over and over, with a look on his face that said, “Mom, it’s obvious. Don’t you get it?” And I finally did.  There’s a picture of a muffin on the sack of cornmeal.

Me: OHhhhh, you want a muffin?
Matty: Thinks for a moment about the meaning of muffin. Yah, a MUFF!

Needless to say, I felt so bad about denying the poor kid the pleasure of a muffin for so long that we had an afternoon Mommy-Son date at Panera…complete with muffins and juice.

So obviously, someone is on a muffin kick around here.  When I noticed this week that we had two bunches of overripe bananas (seriously, how does that happen?), I scoured Pinterest for uses.  Combining a few ideas, I came up with these:

Fruity Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 c white, 1/2 c whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned or quick cooking oats (not instant)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/2 cup  honey (I was a bit short, so I added a little pure organic maple syrup, mmmm)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1 medium apple, peeled and grated (I used a green delicious because Matty had eaten a slice earlier and I needed to use it.)
  • 3/4cup -1 cup diced strawberries
  1. Mix dry ingredients 
  2. Whisk wet ingredients (including fruit)
  3. Slowly add dry mix and stir until combined
  4. Spoon into greased muffin tin or tin lined with muffin papers

Bake at 350 for 22-25 minutes (though I used the toaster oven, which tends to cook faster…). Makes 12 standard size muffins, filled to full.

You could also make a ton of mini-muffins, which apparently most toddlers like.  But my kid prefers muffins that are as big as his head, so yeah.

I made these after Matty went to bed, and I was certain he was going to wake up to come see what the delicious smell was!  I surprised him with these for breakfast the next morning, along with some scrambled eggs and apple-carrot juice (orange juice was causing some serious tummy problems, but he still wants his juice to be orange–so hello carrot juice!).

Pssst…I’m linked up at A Healthy Slice of Life for Munchkin Meals.  Click on over to find other great toddler eats!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

