Artsy Fartsy

7 Apr

I finally finished the frame gallery in Matthew’s room.  It only took 4 months.  Actually, I’m surprised it didn’t take much, much longer.  I’m notorious for a being an art-committment-phobe.

He adores it, which is the most important, and I love that it’s appropriate for him now, but also will grow with him for a few years. Yay for not having to find art again for awhile!

The Breakdown

1. How To Be A Gentleman print.  I originally pinned this idea from an Etsy seller, but alas, it sold out and then the seller wouldn’t print smaller than 11 x 14.  Fear not, I’m computer saavy.  So I recreated it, changing a lot of the “tips” to things that were more appropriate or inspirational to me.

2. Keep Calm and Read Books print.  I liked this one as a reminder to me (ha!), but thought the traditional route was the way to go…for both of us.  I actually just made this one.  You can download the free font here used on the Keep Calm prints.

3. M. This is just a letter created in Word and filled with a chevron pattern, then printed on cardstock.  My original plan was to get a cardboard letter, but I’m having trouble find the “the one”.  This totally works, though, so I consider it done.

4. Polar Bear print.  I picked this up from art.com.  We had a Groupon. Holla!  I liked the simplicity and Matthew loves polar bears. Win-Win.

5. Fox in Glasses print.  This was the final piece of the puzzle.  I was browsing Etsy last week with Matthew by my side, and the minute he saw this he got very excited.  “Gwasses, gwasses!” (Glasses).  He kissed the screen.  He petted it.  Of course I bought it.  He thinks it’s a dog, but that’s ok.  It’s from a seller’s shop called Billy and Scarlet and there’s soooo many more cute prints.

6. Cat Silhouette. This is self-created and I feel it to be very artsy and awesome.  I printed out a cat clip art, traced it on black paper, then glued it on to a piece of wrapping paper. Voila!

7. “I Thought Of That While Riding My Bike” print.  Another art.com Groupon pick.  This quote says it all: “think!”, “go outside”, “have fun”, “use your brain”, go green”.  Or maybe I’m reading to much into it.  Who cares, bikes are awesome.

8. Andy Warhol Airplane print.  I thought this was just so fun for a kid’s room. And it’s never too early to introduce the art of Warhol, no?

9. Ceramic Dog Head.  Such a fun addition!  Matty loves to sit in his bed and yell, “wuff” (dog).  Occasionally I have to hold him up to give it a kiss.  I found this at TJ Maxx for $4.99 months ago, and I’m so glad I picked it up, even though I wasn’t sure where it was going at the time.

10. Metal Numbers. While not on the wall, they are fun decor.  We picked these up at Restoration Hardware a few months ago on clearance.  That’s what we do when we have a babysitter for the day–go shopping for the kiddo. 🙂 I thought they were much more fun on the shelves instead of the wall, and I like that Matty can touch and play with them.

11. Globe.  This was Eric’s when he was younger, so I like that Matty has it now.  He loves to spin it and look at the colors.  And likes bikes, globes are awesome.

So happy it’s coming together well.  It’s a fun place to spend our time during the day.  I still have a few projects to do…follow me on Pinterest and check out more ideas here.

Psst…
See more of Matty’s Room here. 

2 Responses to “Artsy Fartsy”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome April 8, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    I love this! I’m pinning for future inspiration. We are hoping to move later this year so I will be redecorating The Love Nugget’s room! Thanks for sharing!

    • Ashley Niehaus April 8, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks! Oh, moving. Good luck. But it’s always fun to redecorate! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

