Munchkin Meals: April

3 Apr

I tried to focus on meals that included most of Matty’s favorites right now.  It’s amazing the difference a month makes!  He’s added quite a few new foods to his “approved list”, however, we’re far from being a great eater.  Oh, and we’re definitely in the “broken food” stage, i.e. broken crackers are unacceptable and bananas that break in two cause meltdowns. I don’t think I can handle this stage…18 months is too early for this crapt, right?

Breakfast

  • fried egg with spinach
  • nuts and seeds (almonds, cashews, roasted sunflower seed kernels) LOVES THESE!
  • apples (diced AND sliced…because, you know, you never know how he’ll want them today…)
  • peanut butter for dipping (we’re really working on liking dips around here…)

Breakfast stays about the same.  Occasionally we’ll have eggs on toast or a waffle.  Lately we’ve been having egg sandwiches because he’s really into eating sandwiches “like daddy”.  If I’m really tired, we might just have Raisin Bran (Post brand has no HFCS) with almond milk.  Sometimes he just eats a banana.  He’s really, really random as to what time he wants to eat in the morning and how much he wants to eat. This depends on if he nursed in the morning or not (he’s experimenting with cutting out various nursing sessions…)  He’ll usually have a very small glass of orange juice with breakfast (I’m talking a few ounces), then water the rest of the day.

One random trick I’ve found to get him to eat more is to really talk about the food on his plate.  I’ll point everything out, talk about it a bit, and then ask him to show me the eggs, or toast, or chocolate cake (kidding!).

Lunch

(including afternoon snack)

  • chicken noodle soup 
  • strawberries
  • baby carrots and celery
  • peanut butter for dipping
  • graham crackers
  • Cheez It letter crackers
  • dried apricots

This was a meal I packed for the sitter’s house.  He’s usually hungry for lunch at a different time each day (surprise!), and it’s sometimes very difficult to figure out what he wants to eat.  I’m always worried about sending enough food, or the right food, or the food that Matty might possibly maybe kinda sorta be in the mood for that day.  Thankfully, he seems to be a lot less picky there; maybe because there’s another kid to show off for, or maybe because I’m not there for him to appeal to.

Dinner

Absolute hands-down favorite meal: brown rice & black beans from Chipotle.  He’s always eaten this, and probably would eat it for every meal if we’d serve it.  I’ve started adding a little cheese, and he also usually eats a piece or two of chicken and tortilla off of Hubs’ burrito.  I tried adding some tomato salsa a few times, but he’s not a fan…yet.  I think his favorite part is dumping the rice and beans out of the little cups.  Recently, he started using his chips to scoop with.

This month has been racked with sickness, so we’ve eaten a lot of Chipotle.  Since it’s a half hour drive both ways, we usually treat him to an apple juice for being a trooper in the car.  They use pretty much all organic ingredients, so it’s one fast-food I’m on board with. He now asks for beans by name, and a few weeks ago we drove by Chipotle without stopping and he freaked out yelling “my beans, my beans”.  And we miiiiight have taught him the infamous “beans, beans, they’re good for your heart” song…we’re awesome parents.

Pssst. I’m linking up @ A Healthy Slice of Life for Munchkin Meals.  Click on over for other great ideas for feeding Wee Ones.

9 Responses to “Munchkin Meals: April”

  1. Brittany (Healthy Slice of Life) April 4, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Who doesn’t love rice and beans from CHipotle?! Smart kid 😉 I also love that you talk about all the food on his plate. I need to start doing that. Thanks for linking up!

    • Ashley Niehaus April 4, 2013 at 11:47 am #

      True! And I’ve tried recreating the recipe at home, pretty close, but not perfect…

  2. Giselle@myhealthyhappyhome April 4, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    I’m laughing out loud that he yelled, “my beans, my beans!” Oh and the magical song too! My Love Nugget is rather finicky with repeated meals lately. One day he’ll gobble down his eggs and sausage and the next he won’t touch them. I need to get better at alternating but it’s just so easy to make a little more then serve them the next day.

    • Ashley Niehaus April 4, 2013 at 11:48 am #

      Wee One did that, too–a lot. He seems to love a food for a few weeks, then skip it for a month, then come back to it. It’s funny because my husband does the same thing and I always made fun of him for it.

  3. Casey April 4, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I love talking to my son about the foods he is eating! I really think it helps him to know what to ask for when he wants something specific. I also love that you taught him the beans song! That is so cute!

  4. Kristen@Change of Pace April 4, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Ahhh now I want Chipotle!

  5. Lauren April 5, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    Good tip about talking about the food! I read about it and want to also, but need to get into the habit of it. Good to see that it helps though.

  6. Debra Jean April 13, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    When did you start introducing nuts and seeds? Did your little one take long to get used to them? I haven’t tried them with my 19-month-old yet but I’m curious. I watch her like a hawk with raw baby carrots.

    • Ashley Niehaus April 13, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

      He started to reach for them from my plate around 16 months. He had all of his teeth by then, so I let him try. He took to the seeds right away, but is just now starting to actually eat the cashews and almonds instead of just playing or tasting. He takes very tiny nibbles–he doesn’t put the whole thing in his mouth right away. Carrots scare me a bit, too, but again, he always takes small bites, so I feel a smidge more comfortable!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

