Veggie Cupcakes

7 Mar

veggiecupcakes

Matthew and I made these for Valentine’s Day.  It took the better part of the morning (mostly because I was baking with a 17 month old), but it was totally worth it.

For the muffins, I used this recipe (loosely) that I of course pinned from Pinterest.

I liked that it called for a jar of babyfood.  I had a few of those squeeze pouches laying around that Matty never did find a taste for.  What  great use for that!  I don’t think it was squash (as the recipe calls for), but it was some combination of veggies.  I did use half whole wheat flour, and substituted regular oats with some ground flaxseed for the oat bran.

For the frosting I used Weelicious Red Beet Frosting recipe.  WARNING. WARNING. Do not try to save time by buying canned beets. OMG. They smell like dirt.  Apparently roasted beets are much, much better. I added a little more sugar than called for to try to mask the beet dirt smell.  The color was beautiful though! (PS. Anyone remember the Nickelodeon show Doug?  His friend Skeeter loved beets?)

But aside from my obvious gag reflex to the canned beets, once mixed in, they were wonderful! Don’t believe me? Check out this guy:

Finger-lickin’ good and an eye close.  That pretty much sums it up!

Pssst. I’m linking up with Munchkin Meals. Click on over for delicious inspiration!

2 Responses to “Veggie Cupcakes”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome March 7, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    Love the pictures of Matty checking out the cupcakes. He looks so excited!

  2. Casey March 7, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    What a cutie! Those cupcakes look delicious! I’ll definitely be checking out the recipe, as my preggo self has been loving sweets lately but I’m always looking for lighter/healthier recipes since my son HAS to have whatever I’m eating! I like knowing I’m not just pumping myself, and my little sidekick, full of pure sugar!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

