Pinterest Challenge Winter Edition

26 Feb

Whoo whoo. It’s that time again.  Time to stop pinning and start doing!

This couldn’t have come at a better time, since I was just getting ready to start a project.  (It couldn’t have come at a worse time either because the wee one is sick, sick, sick.)

Wee One needs a place to nap on Wednesdays when he goes to the babysitter’s house.  The first week he apparently slept in the pack-n-play like a champ (I didn’t have high hopes of that lasting long). And it didn’t.  Last week he apparently took a blanket and pillow and curled up in the corner. Poor kid. Haha.  So I decided to make him a napmat to take along.

napmat

(Hubby took these pics for me…don’t you love the staged blanket?  He’s a keeper I tell ya!)

I found “pinspiration” here, here, here, and here.

napmat2

I really like the first one, since we actually had a king size comforter without a use, so I just made a quick trip to Jo Ann Fabrics. #horriblefabricselection

All that’s needed for this project is fabric, thread, and some sort of filler–unused comforter or blankets or even regular cotton fill.  I thought about doing it no-sew, but I was afraid of how it would hold up to washing.  I think it would work out, though.

As for the fabric, I bought 2.5 yards off a standard bolt, then just folded it in half.  Exact measuring there, I know.  Ironically enough, that seems to be the perfect fit for a king comforter folded into fourths if you fold the edges of the comforter over a bit.  This is nice because it adds a bit of a roll barrier to the edge, making it nice and cozy.

I also hoped to add a pillow, but the hubs broke the needle on my sewing machine.  How, you ask? Because he had to take over the project halfway through while I nursed a sick toddler on the couch for three days (and counting).  And both of us are too lazy/busy/tired to figure out how to fix it.

(He’s now the beauty AND the brains of this relationship…)

I made three changes from the original tutorial:

1. Add a button closure to the top for easy washing instead of stitching it closed.  Took quite a bit longer, but still a naptime project (if you have a kid that naps well), or a 2 nap project if you have a kid like mine. 🙂

2. Don’t cut the comforter into 4 parts, just fold it.  Then it’s still washable.

3. Only 1 set of straps to tie it together.  Definitely still sturdy and manageable.

We’ll see how it goes today, but he’s been enjoying it for a couple of days now. Well, as much as one can enjoy something while sick. 😦

The blanket was a perfect snuggle partner in the “sicky chair”.

Looking for more pinspiration?  Check out the other Challenge projects link-ups:

Megan @ The Remodeled Life

Katie @ Bower Power

Sherry @ Young House Love

Michelle @ Decor and the Dog

8 Responses to “Pinterest Challenge Winter Edition”

  1. Giselle Schroer February 27, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    What a cute idea and yours turned out great! I wish my son needed one of those so I could attempt to make one. Or just have my mom make it. She’s more of a seamstress than I am 🙂 Love that your hubby is contributing his skills!

    • Ashley Niehaus February 27, 2013 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks! It really did make a great “sick mat”, or it would also be fun in a playroom. My mother-in-law is super-crafty, so she taught my husband well!

  2. michelle@decorandthedog February 27, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    I need an adult version on this. Seriously. 😉

    • Ashley Niehaus February 27, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

      I know, right?!

  3. Tamsyn February 28, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    This is such a great idea, my little guy seriously needs one 🙂

  4. Ashley W February 28, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Great idea! My babe is getting too big for a pack & play too, so this is a great alternative!

  5. farrah February 28, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    What a great idea. I wonder if they could take it to nursery school with them when they start in the fall

    • Ashley Niehaus February 28, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      I believe that’s what a few folks did in the tutorials that I read!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

