Munchkin Meals: Gear

6 Feb

Okay, yes.  I’m veering of course a bit.  Now that Matty has all of his teeth in (except 2 year molars), he’s turned into a good little eater.  In the past few weeks he’s tried at least 7 new foods, and is regularly eating things like sandwiches, sunflowers seeds, and cashews.  But I digress.

I thought I would focus on toddler eating gear. Why? Because…

  • He’s taken a great interest in cooking and spending  time in the kitchen.
  • He no longer wants to stand in his tower to eat (and the high chair has been long packed away).  He wants to sit at the counter like Dad does, of course.
  • I have to pack lunches and/or dinner for him a few days/week for babysitters, some of which needs to be transported, and microwaved.
  • He’s completely outgrown the sippy and will only drink from an open cup.
  • I’m thinking about doing a formal snack/drink station for him.
  • He’s really noticing what others are doing, so he wants a “real fork” and “real plate”, too.
  • I’ve got cabin-fever and a little online window shopping might just be the cure!

Obviously, every mini-chef needs a mini-apron!

Or perhaps I’ll make one?!

And of course the greatest piece of toddler gear we’ve already purchased was his Learning Tower ($40 at Once Upon a Child!). It’s a ridiculous space-hog, but totally worth it.

He’d probably love carrying his own lunchbox into the sitter’s. And he’d look adorable, no?

We have these snack bags. They work great for dry snacks.

But we need something for “wet” lunches that can also be microwaved.  Right now I’m using small glass lidded containers…any suggestions for something more kid-friendly?

He loves our Klean Kanteens, and tries to drink out of them.  Way too big for him.  I bet he’d love one of his own.

And check out this snack station! I’d love to create something like this for Matty.

We have a Pur filter that he knows how to use, so I’m thinking maybe another one of those.  We just need a small shelf and some storage.

Ooh! Klean Kanteen has storage canisters now.  These would be perfect for on-the-go snacking (for Matty and Mommy!).

Since Matty refuses sippy cups and only wants a “big” cup (aka glass), I had to get creative.  I saved a few small, glass food containers–peeled off the labels, ran them through the dishwasher, and voila.  He loves it.  They’re sturdy enough that if dropped they don’t shatter.

This contraption seems kinda cool! Kaboost. It goes on the bottom of a regular chair to boost it up.

Anybody got good recommendations for a long-term booster. MUST BE EASY TO CLEAN. 🙂

Well that was the end of my “Mommy time”.  Such a fun window-shopping excursion. Ha!  Any other feeding gear recommendations for strong-willed, independent little boys who can’t wait to be just like Daddy?

3 Responses to “Munchkin Meals: Gear”

  1. Brittany (Healthy Slice of Life) February 7, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I didn’t know what that step stool was at first, but once I clicked on it I realized we might need one, too! I love the idea of Hailey being able to stand next to me and “help” in the kitchen. Thanks for the idea! (and for linking up :))

    • Ashley Niehaus February 7, 2013 at 8:34 am #

      One Step Ahead makes a folding one, but I’m not sure how complicated it is to set back up. And we all know how patiently little ones would wait…:)

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 7, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    Great ideas! We almost got that Learning tower, but went with a basic step stool. The snack station is adorable- complete with a mini compost! SO cute! Thanks for sharing these great ideas.

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

