(Completely Unofficial) Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

1 Feb

Internet shopping party! Whoo whoo.  These are my favorite kinds of parties.  Good times without actually having to talk to anyone (introverts unite!).  John and Sherry at YHL (of course) came up the idea, based on this song.  If you haven’t heard it, it’s pretty funny.

The Rules 

Step #1. Go to a thrift shop with – just as the chorus of the song says – “$20 in your pocket”and take a picture.

Step #2. Spend that $20 any way you’d like and photograph your spoils.

Step #3. Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic.  Bonus points for doing something ridiculous with the item in the photo.

Step #4. Blog and link up.

I actually had an extra element of challenge…I had to do the whole thing in under 45 minutes–between dropping Wee One off at the babysitter and getting to work.

Let me preface by saying I didn’t have $20 in my pocket. I don’t carry cash.  Credit card–holla!

My first stop was Mercy United in Wapakoneta (just around the corner from the babysitter).

mercy

This whole downtown area is actually pretty nice–antique shops, bridal shops, consignments shops, and a few restaurants.  The thrift stores must be trying to keep up with the high-end folk, because the prices were steep.

Like $15 for a JT bobblehead.  Sorry, dude, you didn’t bring that much sexy back.

jt

There was a also a cabinet from Target with an orange clearance sticker for $24, marked down from $75.  The thrift store thought it needed to be marked back up to $60.  Say what?

So needless to say I left without finding any song items or spoils. Though I was tempted by this book.

dogs

I realized if I wanted the true “thrifting experience” I would need to head back to Lima.

So I hit the convention Goodwill thrifstore. And jackpot!

Housecoat + Flannel Zebra Leopard Pajamas

Upload Me

And a kind woman standing next to me bought this.  After having a nice long discussion about how warm and generally awesome it must be, she asked me if I was going to get it because she would like to buy it.  And I felt so bad I almost bought it for her. 😦

So I moved on.

Big A$$ Coat

coat

I must admit.  I need a big a$$ coat. My kid likes to play outside even on the coldest days.  But I didn’t really want to resemble Barney.

But I did end up leaving with a few things.

Probably Broken Coffee Maker, $3

coffeepot

Wee One is obsessed with making coffee.  He’ll pretend to grind beans, put a filter in, pour the beans in to a filter, and pour the coffee into mugs.  This may save our real one from getting broken (more broken).

Reading Glasses, $1

glasses

Again, Wee One is obsessed with wearing glasses. Right now he wears Mr. Potato Head glasses, so I thought these might fit better (I’ll pop the lenses out first.)

Not the greatest thrifting day. At all. But I did hear Macklemore on the radio for the first time as I pulled into work.  And rocking out in the car for 3 minutes kid-free was totally worth it.

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

