House Party: Matty’s Room

16 Jan

House Party

Matty’s room has been the biggest transition.

1. He’s growing so fast that the needs for his room keep changing before I can get it done.

2. We actually moved his room a month or so ago.  Right after I got it “done.”

We were originally going to put him in the back bedroom, but that room always seemed so cold.  Then we thought he’d like to have carpet to crawl around on.  Since he never really crawled and he’s into riding toys and pushing toy cars around, we decided the non-carpeted floor would be fine now.  Plus we weatherproofed and it’s nice and toasty.

Before

(it’s a bad pic, I know–it’s from the listing…)

After

Magnetic & Dry Erase board playspace

Teepee (Homemade Christmas gift from Aunt Amy)

Closet & Storage still need some work…

Things Done:

  • New Flooring
  • Painted Walls TWICE (Matty’s Room color: Baltic Gray by Benjamin Moore, also known as Flying Saucer Gray by Benjamin Moore for Target)
  • Painted trim
  • Removed closet doors
  • Replaced outlets, light switches, and covers
  • Painted ceiling
  • Caulked windows
  • Painted door
  • New door hinges and knob

To Do

  • New light fixture
  • Custom closet shelving
  • Finish decorating (including wall art.  I think Matty is starting to get confused about who the people in the frames are…)

I actually created a plan for Matty’s room.  Then every single thing sold out. Not even kidding.

Matty's Room

  • The bedding I wanted was Goodnight Moose from Land of Nod.  I’ve since devised a plan to design my own on Spoonflower.
  • I was going to go with a bigger rug size, but when it sold out, I realized making a little “play nook” with open flooring for cars and riding toys worked better anyway.
  • The book holder was from Dwell Studios, and yes, sold out.
  • Metal wall letter from Land of Nod is back in Stock, but I found this idea to make my own.
  • We already had the map and lambskin rug.
  • Now we just have to figure out the bed style we want.

To see more wall art ideas, check out this Pinterest Board.

Very happy with how this room turned out.  Especially since Matty and the cats spend a lot of time in here. 🙂

7 Responses to “House Party: Matty’s Room”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome January 17, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    It looks so good! I love the magnet/dry erase board. Does he sleep in his big boy bed?

    • Ashley Niehaus January 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, we transitioned him about a month ago. He’s doing SO good (knock on wood). 🙂

      • ahealthyhappyhome January 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

        We’ve been debating making the transition. Our little guy sleeps with a pacifier so we need to decide which one to do first… Decisions, decisions!

      • Ashley Niehaus January 17, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

        I kept everything else the same–i.e. I still nurse him, and lie down with him until he falls asleep. I also still let him nap in “the big bed”/our bed until just a week or two ago. I read somewhere that you always, always, always keep naps as normal as possible so it makes night sleep easier.

        I was expecting weeks of screaming, and we only had about a week of waking up once, maybe twice. He even wakes up happy and plays for awhile before calling for us. I think maybe I thought it would be a bigger deal than it was?

  2. ahealthyhappyhome January 17, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

    Hmmm… maybe we’ll give it a try. My thought was the pacifier might help make the transition a little easier than taking that away first. He’s tried to climb out a few times so it might be time.

    • Ashley Niehaus January 17, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

      I bet it would!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Artsy Fartsy | This Girl's Canon - April 7, 2013

    […] Psst… See more of Matty’s Room here.  […]

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

