2013 Reading List

2 Jan

2012 was a good year in terms of reading.  Mostly because I assumed that a new baby=zero reading time.  But having a constantly-needs-to-be- nursed-and-held baby is an excellent way to squeeze in some reading time. Especially with a Kindle.   At the start of last year, I joined Goodreads’ Reading Challenge and set a goal of 32 books.  I figured that was 2-3 books/month, and I was very happy to find that completely do-able.  In fact, I topped out at 34.  Of course that doesn’t include children’s books–though maybe I should track those…I estimate that I read 100-125 different picture books to the wee one this year! Wowza.

This year, I’m curious about how much reading I can actually get done.  But a challenge is a challenge, and I’m resolved to take more “me-time” this year (and not feel guilty about it!) so I upped the baseline to 34 books this year.

2013 Reading List

1.   Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

This was actually on last year’s list, but I never got around to it.  It’s probably going to be one of my first reads this year.

Quiet

2. Raising Boys

Boy are different. True story.  And I think it’s important to tap into that “special boy magic” (aka energy) and harness it for good.

3. 15 Minutes Outside

I meant to read this one last year, too. But I had no problem finding at least 45-60 minutes to spend outside each day with the wee one, so I pushed it back.  However last year was spent on walks in the stroller and laying on a blanket–I don’t think that’s going to fly this year.

4. The Milk Memos: How Real Moms Learned to Mix Business With Babies- and How You Can, Too

I don’t have plans to go back to work full-time this year, so this is for pure entertainment factor.  Plus, reading stories of moms who battle working out of the house helps put into perspective how blessed I am to be able to stay home (even though some days I’m clawing the walls by the time the hubby gets home 🙂 )

5.  Dinner: A Love Story

Oh, dinner. Together. It’s getting harder.  Wee one goes to bed earlier. Hubby comes home later.  I’m exhausted from trying to figure out what everyone wants to eat.  Wee one is done after 2 bites…

6. Montessori Madness

I studied Montessori in college, and I think it’s good for a lot of kids, but I’m a huge proponent of finding what’s best for your kid. The hubby is definitely a “Montessori type person” and I’m more of a “creative” type, so we’ll see where the wee one falls…

7. Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

Not sure if I want to read this, but I feel like I should read this…

8. Room

I put this on my list last year, and I’m just not sure if I’m going to be able to do it.  Becoming a parent has done me in.  I now cry at Hallmark commercials and develop insomnia worrying about how to protect my child from gunmen.

9. Cheaper By The Dozen

I’ve never seen the movie all the way through, but apparently the book is funnier.  That’s what I need. Funny.

10. The Autobiography of Santa Claus

What a fun holiday read! A friend recommended this after reading it for her book group, so I’m sold.

11. Cloud Atlas: A Novel

I thought the previews for this movie looked good, so of course that means the book has to be AWESOME, right?

12. The Warmth of Other Suns

Sometimes I want to read.  I don’t want romance. I don’t want drama. I don’t want anything that’s going to keep me up worrying. Historical non-fiction.  It may become my new favorite genre.

13. Code Name Verity

I have some weird obsession with WWII. Not the battles or the weaponry or the tactics, but the people.

14. Jefferson’s Sons

I have to admit.  I watched the made-for-TV movie about Sally Hemmings and Thomas Jefferson that was made years ago, and even though it was full on inaccuracies, I became kind of fascinated with his story.

15. Casual Vacancy

J.K. Rowling for adults?  What was Harry Potter then? Ha.

16.
17.
18. 50 Shades…

I’m gonna do it.  I said I wouldn’t, but I’m going to.  I pretty much get the story.  And the aftermath–50 Shades of Grey babies, anyone?    I was talking with a friend the other day who mentioned this book was “life-changing.” Life-changing? Definitely interested in figuring that out.

This list covers about half of my reading for the year.  And apparently after reading 50 Shades I’m going to want to do nothing but “color” (Sex in the City reference, holla!), so maybe I won’t reach my goal this year. Ha. Most of the rest of the spots will be filled with books from an online parenting book group, with a few spots left to pick up something spontaneously (I’m a wild one, watch out!).  Plus, you never know when Nicholas Sparks will release a new book <–read ’em all!

Any good recommendations?  Is 50 Shades really worth my time?  I mean, I could be using that time to read about vaccines and tantrums and food strikes and potty training and how to remove crayon marks from EVERYTHING.

7 Responses to “2013 Reading List”

  1. Giselle Schroer January 3, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    I need to read the raising boys book! Especially as my little guy gets older. I just ordered the book Room from Barnes and Nobles after much contemplation. I too am worried about how it will affect me but I heard it was good. I also ordered Thirteen Reasons Why, Still Missing, Dark Places and Shatter Me. I guess I like mystery books! I haven’t done the 50 shades series yet but am thinking about it…

    • Ashley Niehaus January 3, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

      I’ve had so many people tell me how good “Room” is over the past few days, so here’s to some good reading!

  2. Erika January 4, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    I tried really hard to read 50 Shades – I got through to the middle of the 2nd book and I just couldn’t read it anymore. And even at that I skimmed a lot of it. It almost made me mad – the main girl is so dumb that I just wanted to smack her 🙂

    I love murder/mystery novels and have currently started the Sue Grafton ABC series.

    • Ashley Niehaus January 4, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      I finished Gone Girl a few months back and that was a pretty goo murder/mystery novel. The ending wasn’t exactly my favorite, but still a good read!

      • Giselle Schroer January 5, 2013 at 10:41 am #

        I just finished Gone Girl last week and felt the same way about the ending. Really!?!

      • Ashley Niehaus January 5, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

        Yes! There were so many better ways it could have ended.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homepage - January 8, 2013

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: thisgirlscanon.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/2013-reading-list/ […]…

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

