Munchkin Meals

5 Dec

It’s time for another Munchkin Meals.  You know, the day where Matty looks at me like I’m nuts for taking pictures of him while he’s eating. 🙂

Matthew is 14 months old, and is definitely getting into the “picky toddler” stage. I’ve noticed that he wants to eat the same thing for 4 days straight, then not eat it again for a month.  I had really anticipated him being weaned, or at least just down to one nursing session by now, but alas, he has other plans.  Some days he does only nurse once, and other days he nurses 3 or 4 times.  I have to admit that I really don’t mind, since on days that he decides to only eat 1 raisin and a graham cracker I know that he’s getting some nutrition.  Less stress is always a good thing!

I’ve found that offering him a small choice, letting him pick out food, and helping to cook it are great ways to get him to take at least a few bites of something.

Breakfast

DSC_0113

  • Mini Pancakes (cooked in the oven in a whoopie pie pan–such a great way for them to all get done at the same time and still be hot), topped with a raspberry for added flair 🙂
  • Bacon
  • 1/2 banana
  • Berry medley (strawberries, raspberries, and frozen blueberries)
  • Orange Juice

DSC_0124

The forking skills have pretty much been perfected…

Lunch

DSC_0126

  • Chicken and Wild Rice Soup (Yes, I did order this in bulk from Amazon, and yes it is pretty good.  I’ve been ordering a lot of groceries online to avoid taking a mini-tornado to the grocery store for big trips.)
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Slice of Whole Wheat Bread (for dipping)
  • Water

Dinner

DSC_0134

  • Vegetable Spaghetti
  • Homemade Tomato Sauce
  • Canned Diced Peaches
  • Water

DSC_0135

Obviously spaghetti was not made to be eaten with a fork!

DSC_0137

Apparently 3 bites is all he needs to stay happy!

He also snacked throughout the day.  I added some boxed Raisin Bran and shredded carrots to his tray with some leftover strawberries from lunch.  The snack tray is working out great, although he is starting to roam with snacks a bit.  We found a graham cracker in the bed last night…

4 Responses to “Munchkin Meals”

  1. closefamilies December 6, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    That last pic, what a doll he is!! 🙂

    • Ashley Niehaus December 6, 2012 at 11:14 am #

      Thanks! He definitely knows how to ham it up for the camera.

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast December 6, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    He makes the best facial expressions! So many of my friends had kids who would barely eat, but my daughter is a machine, and then some days I would wonder if I should limit her intake…there’s stress on either side, I think!

  3. Giselle@myhealthyhappyhome December 6, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    What a good little eater! My little guy goes through phases of eating everything to only wanting certain things. He is totally obsessed with forking everything! Including his toast!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

