Baby Shower Gift Idea

3 Dec

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure to attend a baby shower for my sister-in-law.  FOR TWINS!  That’s going to make 5 kids, people.  I’m sure a live-in nanny, cleaning service, or all expense paid vacation would have gone over well, but instead, she got this:

DSC_0575

I always like to go the practical route for baby gifts, so I focused on bathtime.

  • Towel Apron
  • Washcloth Lollipops
  • Toothbrushes
  • Gum Massagers
  • Babyganics Bath Wash
  • Babyganics Lotion
  • Babyganics Diaper Creme
  • Gender appropriate Rubber Duckies
  • Bath Caddy

The lollipops were fun to make.

Start with two coordinating colors of washcloths.  Fold them into thirds or fourths depending on size.

DSC_0518

Place one on top of the other,with the top cloth hanging off one side about an inch.  Fold the top cloth down and under itself, leaving about 2 inches at the top.

DSC_0520

Then roll the clothes, with the bottom cloth wrapping around the top.  Once rolled, secure with a piece of tape.

Tape a toothbrush (or gum massager), on to the back to act as the “stick”.  Cover with a treat bag and secure with a ribbon.

lollipop

Then, I had to sew.  Booo.  I found a bath apron online and almost purchased it, then thought…hmm, I bet I could make this.  I found some tutorials online, but they seemed harder than they needed to be.  So I winged it.  I’m anticipating hearing how well it holds up after a couple of uses (due to my sewing skills).

Start with one large bath towel, 1 fat quarter of fabric, coordinating thread, and pins.

DSC_0494

Yes, I had to buy pins. Ha.  But if you have pins, all the materials for this project are under $5 at Wally World (aka Wal Mart).

Then I folded both corners to the center, just eye-balling it until looked “apron-y”.  I’m very precise…

DSC_0495

Then I stitched one straight line parallel to the edge.  Then I folded the corner under and stitched another straight line.  I did it this way because I was too scared to the attempt a turn while sewing. Ha!

bathapron

DSC_0499

As a bonus, it made it extra cushy and super-absorbent.

The next step was to make the straps–4 of them–2 for the neck and 2 for the waist.  So I cut my fat quarter into 4 equal pieces.

I folded over and pinned each strap, then ran a straight stitch down the middle of each.

After that, I pinned each strap onto the towel and ran three stitches across. Better ways to do this, but this was effective.

DSC_0503

As an afterthought, I realized I’m pretty tall, so the length of the towel would probably be too long for most gals.  So I eyeballed it (again, I’m very precise) and trimmed a few inches off the bottom, then hemmed it.

An hour later, all done.  NOTE: It probably didn’t need to take that long, but someone kept unplugging the sewing machine and running around the house with the fabric on his head…

Then I had to find some willing not-so-willing models.

DSC_0508DSC_0514

2 Responses to “Baby Shower Gift Idea”

  1. Giselle@myhealthyhappyhome December 4, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    What a cute idea! I love the towel apron! I bet my husband would even wear it since he does bathtime! Ha!

    • Ashley Niehaus December 4, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Thanks! Maybe if I made my husband a “manly” one I could talk him into doing bathtime. Hmmm… 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

