Fall Fun Recap

28 Nov

We’re in full-on Christmas mode around here, so I suppose it’s time for a recap of our Fall fun.

Our Family Fall Fun List

1. Dance the Chicken Dance at Oktoberfest (Zinzinnati)

I suppose it was a bit too windy to stand in front of the fountain.

But it was fun to play in!

2. Rake Leaves

3. Bake a Pumpkin Pie from Scratch

I told him it was time to put the spices in…

Destruction: Baking with a Toddler

Ok, ok.  I didn’t make the crust from scratch.  Someone got a little sleepy…

But it was still delicious.  I followed this recipe (dairy & soy free).

4. Go Trick-or-Treating

More in this post.

5. Put up a Halloween Tree

More in this post.

6. Decorate a Pumpkin

7. Pick a Pumpkin from a Pumpkin Patch

More in this post.

8. Go to an Apple Festival

A llama! Yes, Matty called it “Mama, Llama.” 🙂

The rocks in the parking lot seemed to be the biggest hit! Of course, we shared an apple doughnut and a cup of cider, but we were too busy stuffing our faces to take a picture.

9. Make Pinecone Bird Feeders

WHOOPS. Mom FAIL.  I’ll go sprinkle some seed around…

10. Make Homemade Applesauce

Matty doesn’t like it.  Eric didn’t want it.  And since having a baby, I can’t stand apples.  Weird.  In other words, didn’t happen.

11. Go to a Football Game

Somebody decided to start going to bed most nights around 7:30…Kind of put a damper on those plans.  But, as a consolation, I’m doing pretty good in my Fantasy Football League!  Doesn’t count? Shucks.

Never rule out Peyton Manning!

12. Donate Goods to a “Drive” (ex. Hats or Canned Food)

The Boy Scouts went door-to-door requesting food for a Thanksgiving event in Lima.  You can read about it here.  It was nice to put together a bag–who knows, maybe next year we’ll volunteer.

We didn’t get everything done, but we had a pretty good time.  I mean, we did get to build a snowman in October. And we had a pretty packed Thanksgiving to end on a high note.

Matty got up at 6:00 to help with the turkey…

He was very happy to finally get to wear his turkey shirt.

But he was sad that he forgot to practice his “gobble, gobble, gobble.”  He has since perfected it and all we hear is “gobble, gobble, gobble, ho, ho, ho.”

His favorite part of potty learning…

It was too nice to stay indoors…

Matty has declared that Aunt Amy is NOT allowed to touch his toys anymore.

We finished up the afternoon with a craft.

I really, really, really can’t believe Fall is pretty much over and Christmas is already here.  It’s true what they say, “the days are long, but the years are short.”

 

On a side note…who’s the sick one?!  Matty came down with a high fever last night, so it’s been a lot of snuggles, nursing, and 20 minute catnaps (all night!!!).  I think we may have to boycott Christmas.

4 Responses to “Fall Fun Recap”

  1. Giselle Schroer November 29, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    What a fun fall you guys have had! This was a great reminder for me to revisit my fall bucket list. How old is your little guy? I have an 18 month old and I’ve been wondering when to start potty training…

    • Ashley Niehaus November 29, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Matthew is 14 months old. We’ve always worked on potty learning–he went in the potty chair for the first time at 5.5 months. Then went 3 months where he wouldn’t go anywhere near it. The other day he signed that he had to go and did go. Mostly he just likes to sit on it and make “psss” noises. 🙂 I figure it’s better to teach them from the start that yes, this is where you go. I know there’s a lot of debate, but I don’t think it’s ever too early…as long as there’s no pressure or reprimanding.

      • Giselle Schroer December 2, 2012 at 10:19 am #

        Wow! That’s great! 5.5 months! We have a potty chair and will sit him on it before bathtime but not much happens. He also just likes to make the psss sound but I figure just introducing it even though he might not be ready is better than nothing. I wish we could be out of diapers now but like you, I’m not going to push it.

  2. Avent bottles December 16, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    Saved as a favorite, I like your site!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

