Shake YaTail Feather

15 Nov

A few days ago I came across an adorable craft project…

Something for Matty? Check!
Something with turkeys? Check!
Something No Sew? Check!

So without further ado, I introduce you to

I found the brown t-shirt at Hobby Lobby and picked up a few fat quarters from Jo-Ann.  So all in all, waaaay cheaper than any novelty tee or cute dressy outfit I could buy.  I even picked up a onesie from Hobby Lobby too, since I knew I had lots of fabric, and it’s just as cute (if not cuter).  Now I have an awesome baby gift laying in the wings.

I used THIS PATTERN to cut out the fabric pieces, then used hem tape to adhere it.  I figured since it would only be worn a couple of times, hem tape would hold up just fine.  It only took “1 Matty nap” to finish (that’s how I tell time around here nowadays), and I made 4 of them…Ha.  I bought one extra shirt and onesie in case I messed up.

So, if you’re still looking for an outfit for your little one for Thanksgiving festivities, I highly recommend this.  Especially if you can teach them to shake their butt every time you say “shake ya tail feather”.  Or is that too thug?  That’s how we roll around here.

3 Responses to “Shake YaTail Feather”

  1. ahealthyhappyhome November 16, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    OMG that is an adorable idea! I’m not a big seamstress so I love that you used tape instead of sewing it on. Makes me think I might actually be able to make it! Thanks for sharing!

    • Ashley Niehaus November 16, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Hem tape is seriously my life-saver! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. URL - November 26, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: thisgirlscanon.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/shake-yatail-feather/ […]…

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

