Fall Pinterest Challenge: No-Sew Road Trip Pillowcases

30 Oct

Pinterest Challenge

So, the 5th time is a charm, right?  When Katie and Sherry first announced the Pinterest Challenge, I was uber excited.  Then life happened. Like 4 times. So 5th time…

Let’s just say the 1st Project was a total FAIL and worthy of submission to Pinstrosity.

So I moved on to Project 2–Road Trip Pillowcases.

Road Trip Pillowcases

I kind of want one of these for myself, but decided to make one for my niece and nephews who currently live 5 hours away–aka–spend a lot of time in a car in order to visit family.

The original directions, from Amazing Mae,  call for sewing your own pillowcase and stitching the pocket on. Umm, no.  I own a sewing machine. I like my sewing machine. But this post pretty much sums up the ultimate outcome when I attempt to sew.

I bought a pack of 2 pillowcases, 2 fat quarters of fabric, and used hem tape I had on hand.

No-Sew Directions

1. Iron the pillowcase. <–LOOK! I ironed! lol.

2. Iron the fat quarter.

3. Fold 1/2″-1″ all the way around the edges of fat quarter to form hem. Iron lightly to hold.

4. Measure and cut hem tape and place under fold.


5. Place wet (not sopping wet, but more than damp) washcloth over fold and hold iron 5-7 seconds.  Check for adherence. CAUTION: Washcloth will be HOT!

6. Repeat on all 4 sides of fat quarter.

7. Position hemmed “pocket” on center of pillowcase.

8. Measure hem tape to length of pocket and place between bottom hem of pocket and pillowcase.

9. Use wet washcloth and iron to adhere.

10. Repeat on both sides.  NOTE: Do NOT adhere top edge to pillow–that’s the opening of the pocket.

Now, you could be done at this point, but I decided to do a handle to make carrying by little hands easier.  I tried using craft ribbon to form a handle and attach it with hem tape, but it wouldn’t hold.  So I folded over a strip of fabric and hem taped the edges.  I’m not sure how well this will hold.  Perhaps a date with my sewing machine is in order.

As an afterthought, I decided to add a smaller pocket on top of the large pocket for iPods or other smaller trinkets.

Speaking of trinkets, I picked up a few things that could be fun for kids during car rides.

One down, 2 more to go…

5 Responses to “Fall Pinterest Challenge: No-Sew Road Trip Pillowcases”

  1. Amber October 30, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Very cute idea! Throw a travel aqua doodle in there too. My daughter loves hers. She isn’t that great with coloring on appropriate surfaces yet, so it’s a travel must have for us. Good luck on your next 2 and happy travels!

  2. michelle October 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    Cute idea! What a good aunt!

  3. Megan October 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    What a genius idea! They are adorable! I would LOVE for you to link this up at my Ginger Jamboree Link Party!!

  4. Ashley October 30, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Adorable! We go on long road trips all the time, and since my 2-year old is growing right up, she’d love something like this!

  5. Sara @ Stay at Beach Mom November 1, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    This is such a fun idea! I love the no-sew method too :).

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

