Reincarnation

26 Oct

I’m definitely a spiritual person, but until recently I hadn’t given much thought to the idea of reincarnation.  Reincarnation is the religious or philosophical concept that the soul or spirit, after biological death, begins a new life in a new body that may be human, animal or spiritual depending on the moral quality of the previous life’s actions (taken straight from Wikipedia).

Recently, I’ve been thinking about this.  Mostly because I’m convinced I birthed the reincarnated being of St. Francis of Assisi.

Some unprompted St. Francis kissing at Grandma’s.

St. Francis is the patron saint of animals.  There are many stories about St. Francis preaching to the animals and persuading them to act one way or the other.  Animals were often drawn to him.  Case in point:

Stray Cat 1:

Stray Cat 2:

Kittens 3, 4, & 5:

Kitten 6:

Yep. We had yet another lost soul show up this week.  As Matty and I were outside playing, I turn around to find Matthew sitting in the driveway with a kitten on his lap.  He then proceeded to pick the kitten up and carry it across the yard to me.  The kitten purred the whole time…Matthew then ran into the garage and got the cat food.  Of course, how could I tell him no?  So we fed another stray.

Then Matty gave it a nice bed to sleep in.

I’m so done with cats.  So I accosted all the neighbors and found out the kitten belongs a few houses down, but it had to make its way across a very busy intersection to make it to our house.  The owners haven’t been home for days, and every time I take it back to their porch, it beats me back home.

Old Kitty and new kitten do not get along, so perhaps St. Francis Matty can use his power of persuasion to promote peace.  Or perhaps just convince the damn thing to go home.

And yes…I see the resemblance between kitten 3 and kitten 6.  Same Baby Daddy, yo?

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

