Munchkin Meals Link-Up: All Day Eats

4 Oct

munchkin meals

It’s time for another Munchkin Meals link-up party, so count me in.  I need ideas to feed this child–he’d live off of breastmilk, strawberries, and pizza if I let him.  It’s getting harder and harder to prepare ONE meal for everyone:

Healthy Eating Mom + Picky, Picky Dad + 12 Month Old = Aaaarrrggghhh

Breakfast

  • Homemade pancakes (a fave for everyone!) with homemade blueberry syrup for Mom; plain, organic Maple syrup for Dad; plain blueberries for Baby
  • Bacon (nitrate-free, which I actually found at Wal-Mart!)
  • Strawberries, of course (2 cut up pictured, 6 actually consumed)
  • Orange Juice for all (Little Guy refuses to drink anything but water and orange juice. Oh, and don’t water down the juice. He knows! ) I always thought I’d be on the “No Juice” train, but it’s organic OJ, whatev.

We’re practicing our forking skills around here.

So he ate about half the pancake, 6 strawberries, 2-3 tiny blueberries, 1 tiny piece of bacon, and about 2 oz of OJ.

Lunch

Lunch was pizza. I know, I know.  BUT, this was not my doing.  Hubby stepped in with promises of lunch, which involved tossing a frozen pizza into the toaster oven (and forgetting to turn it on…)

He’s so happy for pizza. Oh, and ignore the shirtless Bubba, he was helping me winterize the garden hose–which poured water all over us.  Great fun.

  • Crapt frozen pepperoni pizza for all
  • Raw spinach for me and bambino (yep, eating leaves is great fun for a 1 year old, apparently)
  • Black beans for bambino
  • Raw baby carrots for me and bambino
  • Water for all

He ate 4 pieces of pizza. 4. Not torn up. Whole, taking bites.  This kid takes his pizza seriously.  He also ate two spinach leaves and two baby carrots. Uncooked. Yep, he just kinda shaves it off with his teeth until there’s a little nub left, which he puts back on the table. Who knew?!  He’s noticed that I tear my spinach up and put it on top of my pizza, so he tried that too, with no success–it all fell off.  He didn’t eat any beans, which is weird because they’re one of his favorite foods.

Snack

He had a handful of Plum Organic Cremes. He loves all flavors.

Dinner

Dinner I’m quite proud of.  I just bought the Weelicious cookbook, because you know, it touts COOKING ONE MEAL FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY.  I tried the 4 Bean Crockpot Chili. Delicious.  Eric is quite the picky eater, aka, if it didn’t come from a restaurant he won’t eat it.  But he went back for seconds.  He also ate leftovers later in the week. Unheard of.  He never does leftovers.  Now’s probably not the time to tell him I substituted half the ground beef with ground turkey.  I’m cutting all red meat from my diet, for a number of reasons, but have you heard about this?

  • 4 Bean Crockpot Chili for all
  • Cornbread for all
  • Strawberries for Baby
  • Carrot stick for Baby (he was snacking while I was cooking)

So, what did he actually eat? 9 strawberries. NIIIINE?!  A banana. A carrot stick. And half a piece of bread. Whatever…

What is this crapt?

NOTE: Matty DID eat the chili later in the week when we had leftovers.  He actually ate it by the spoonful.  Apparently he was just in the mood for fruit that night. Oh, and don’t mind the mustard bottle.  Just his favorite toy while Mommy’s cooking.

 

**Update: For anyone looking for the trays pictured, I got these at a Mom 2 Mom sale a few months back. However,  I did find these which are made out of recycled milk jugs (upcycle score!), free of BPA, phalates, and PVC, and are still dishwasher safe.

 

4 Responses to “Munchkin Meals Link-Up: All Day Eats”

  1. JulesJ October 4, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    I love your blog and your little munchkin is so cute! I was wondering where you got the blue trays from that he eats off of…those would be perfect for my daughter!!

  2. Ashley Niehaus October 4, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Thanks so much! I actually got the trays at a Mom 2 Mom sale, but I found something similar on Amazon that might work for you.

    http://www.amazon.com/Green-Eats-Divided-Tray-Blue/dp/B004S2GCBM/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1349394538&sr=8-4&keywords=divided+toddler+tray

  3. Coleen @ DNCWWO October 4, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Your son is adorable! I love that he plays with the mustard bottle while you cook.

  4. Alona October 6, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Wonderful website. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks in your sweat!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

