Upcycled: Cardboard Box Play Barn & Farmyard

1 Sep

We’ve been working on animals and animal sounds around here, mostly farm animals.  So it was only appropriate that we get a barn.  However, spending $40-$120 just seemed absurd.

Enter stage-right:

For the base, I used a tri-fold board–24″x36″.  That was a little happy accident, since 12″x12″ scrapbook paper fits those dimensions with no cutting.  I used patterned paper for a bit of flair, and cut out a pond for future ducks and a mud puddle for the piggies.  A little paint, a whole lot of Modge Podge, and a raid of my scrapbook paper completed the look.

Well, okay, it wasn’t complete without the animals.  I originally bought the Animal Planet brand animals, but once I opened the packaging, I was so overwhelmed with that delightful chemical/plastic smell that I threw the bag across the room away from the grasp of the wee-one.  After some Googling, I found out that Animal Plant brand contains high levels of lead in addition to PVC, BPA, etc., etc., etc.  No thanks.  So we went with the Schleich brand–I couldn’t find much on the company’s website except that they hold to the highest manufacturing standards…not helpful.  I did find this post which pretty much sums up my feelings on the topic, and it also helps that she personally tested 200 Schleich figurines with no detection of lead.  So we whipped out some leftover giftcards and got:

1. 1 Cow
2. 1 Horse
3. 1 Mommy Pig
4. 1 Baby Pig

For $28 bucks or so. Yikes.  But I’m sure they’ll get lots of use, make it through multiple kiddos, and have good resale potential.
Best of all, all the animals and accessories get tossed in the barn for storage, and the base folds up nice and neat.  I have plans to create other nature-scapes using the same process for other sets of animals, like Arctic animals or desert animals.

This is Matty’s birthday present, so let’s hope he likes it as much as Mommy and Daddy do!

12 Responses to “Upcycled: Cardboard Box Play Barn & Farmyard”

  1. henrietta September 1, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    where did you get your creativity from

    • Ashley Niehaus September 1, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      I’m guessing the correct answer is “from my Mother.”

  2. Corliss September 30, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    I went over this web site and I believe you have a lot of superb info, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  3. Augustine October 19, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Brice Bardoner November 9, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    I just want to say I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and actually savored you’re web-site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your website . You definitely come with awesome stories. Regards for revealing your website page.

  5. Survival guide|survival February 14, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    It is fairly difficult to locate a very good web site. And I feel I’m lucky adequate to have come here. The posts are undertaking excellent and filled with great insights. I may be glad to keep on coming back right here to check for updates!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Play Box: Little Blue Truck | This Girl's Canon - April 9, 2013

    […] used coffee grounds for the “mud”, and added all of our Schleich animals from the play barn.  Except the toad.  The only frog/toad I had was an Ikea finger puppet. Whatever […]

  2. Our HGTV Photoshoot! | This Girl's Canon - May 14, 2013

    […] and Dad. “I had to find some way to use all these boxes.  I mean, one can only make so many play barns and toy boxes.”  To top it off, a brown sheet was draped casually over the braces, lending […]

  3. Montessori Inspired Farm Animal Cards | This Girl's Canon - July 22, 2013

    […] Matthew if he could find the animal from his basket that matched the one on the card (we have all Schleich farm animals, though Toobs are a great choice, too). Uh, yeah, of course, […]

  4. Farm Sensory Box | This Girl's Canon - July 26, 2013

    […] needed to find some new indoor fun. Or rather, just upgrade some fun.  Last Summer I built Matthew this barn and farm, and I added a sensory box and toddler-approved game this […]

  5. Farm Sensory Box - August 16, 2013

    […] needed to find some new indoor fun. Or rather, just upgrade some fun.  Last Summer I built Matthew this barn and farm, and I added a sensory box and toddler-approved game this […]

  6. Montessori Inspired Farm Animal Cards - August 16, 2013

    […] Matthew if he could find the animal from his basket that matched the one on the card (we have all Schleich farm animals, though Toobs are a great choice, too). Uh, yeah, of course, […]

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

