Upcycled: Cardboard Toy Box

17 May

Moving involves lots of boxes. LOTS. Between the renovations happening around here and the influx of “baby stuff” that’s needed, Amazon has become my new best friend.  What did people do before online shopping, especially 2 day shipping?  I just don’t know.

I try to be environmentally conscious.  Watching all of these boxes just get tossed was killing me.  So I started looking for other ways to use them around the house.  A month or so ago, I realized that Matty’s jumbo blocks were overrunning their basket–they needed a bigger home.  Enter, the cardboard box.  It was big enough. It was sturdy enough. And it was free!

Of course, having a cardboard box with “AMAZON” across the side isn’t the least bit visually pleasing, so I decided to jazz it up.  I wasn’t sure my plan was going to  work, so I grabbed some cheap fabric I already had on hand, and haphazardly glued it to the box.  It looked bad, but it was better than before, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned in motherhood so far it’s that perfectionism is over-rated.

I did make a mental note to see how it held up, and to reglue it later to make it better.  Ha. Hahaha. I felt proud just getting this accomplished so  I don’t know when I planning on having time/energy to redo it…

That VERY SAME NIGHT, I was catching up on my blog reading and came across THIS

Damn super-moms.  On the one hand, I was happy that my idea to cover a box with fabric was being used by other creative people, but on the other hand, I knew I was going to have to fix up Matty’s block box sooner rather than later– I don’t want the poor kid growing up thinking that is what crafting is all about.

I wanted this project to be free and to continue to use things I already had, so I turned to my paper and ribbon and scrapbook paper collection along with a bit of Modge Podge.  And voila!

Not too shabby, eh?  It took all of 15 minutes, which juuusssst fits into Matty’s 20 minute naptimes.  It felt so good to get this done and to craft.  I’m making it a habit.  I will “make” something every week. EVERY WEEK.  Life’s too short and parenthood is too crazy not to take 15 minutes to zone out with ribbon and a glue gun.

One Response to “Upcycled: Cardboard Toy Box”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Our HGTV Photoshoot! | This Girl's Canon - May 14, 2013

    […] had to find some way to use all these boxes.  I mean, one can only make so many play barns and toy boxes.”  To top it off, a brown sheet was draped casually over the braces, lending to the air of […]

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

