{Lookin’ Fly in July}

8 Jul

 

I don’t really know what that means, it just sounded fun.  And the hubby is looking pretty fly (for a white guy)…a little Offspring anyone…no?

So, it’s July.  (Yes, I know that we are already 1 week into July…I was on VACATION!)  So now that I’m back, adjusted to non-island life, and getting on with my chores, I suppose I should check back on those June goals.  ::Groan::

Take vitamin every day, B
Take herbal supplement 3x/day, B
Eat dinner in 4x/week, Hmm…I don’t know how to count this being on vacation and all…
Be in bed (and asleep) by 11:00 on weekdays, F.  This will just never happen, I fear.
Walk to or from work 4x/week, Umm…we had a lot of rain.
Go for at least a 20min. walk outside 1x/week, A
Stretch and do “mini-workout” every day, C
Mail a card to a friend via snail-mail, A
Organize my clothes closet, Yes.  I mean I did, but then it got messy again.  The hubby finally agreed to install an organizer…after I kicked a suitcase…not one of my finer moments, I admit.
Make 3 more cards for Fall craft fair (gotta start early…), I’m more of a wait-til-the-last-minute kind of gal.
Try one new recipe, A
Read 2 books out of the “To Be Read” pile accumulating on my coffee table, A

Oh, wait.  That wasn’t too painful.  Or maybe I’m still on a vacation high.

So besides vacation (did I mention I went on vacation yet?!), check out what else kept us busy in June.

GARDENING

I only killed 1 Gerbera daisy plant.  However, my gladiolus have yet to bloom.  I mean they sprouted, and they look lush and green, but no spikes or blooms.  Any suggestions?!

COOKING

I did try a new recipe.  I made zucchini bread.  We’ve also had friends over for dinner a few times, which is nice—cooking for 3,4, or 5 instead of 2.  No leftovers!

MOVIES & TV

Wipeout is back! Best show ever! Okay, not ever, but close.

 We also started watching The Tudors on Netflix.  I don’t know why we’re so interested…it’s not like we don’t know what’s going to happen…rebellion, sex, & beheadings anyone?  And since no post is complete without a Twilight reference: Did you know that Henry Cavill, who plays Charles Brandon Duke of Suffolk in The Tudors, was Stephenie Meyers’ first choice to play Edward?

Just Henry - A collection of news and notes about British actor Henry Cavill

We also watched Love Happens, which was pretty good.  I’d recommend a couple hours of your life for it.

BOOKS

Ha! I get to talk about Twilight again.  I read the Bree Tanner novella.  Not earth-shattering, but I enjoyed it.  It was an extremely quick read, like a few hours quick, and it was a nice back-story to have before seeing the movie.

I then read Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress.  Highly recommended.  Set during the 1970’s cultural reeducation in China, it provides a brief glimpse into a part of history I was unfamiliar with.

So I guess I should finally get around to setting some July goals, no?

Take vitamin everyday
Take herbal supplement 1x/day
Eat dinner in 4x/week
Be in bed and asleep by 11:00
Walk to work 2x/week (it’s hot out there!)
Do 1 adventurous outdoor activity each week (yeah…I know that’s open-ended)
Mail a card to friend via snail-mail
Try 2 new recipes
Read a book
Organize filing cabinet
Organize clothes closet
Pass my graduate school class (preferably an “A”, yes, but we’ll see…)

Wish me luck! :/

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

