{Sproost Up My Scandanavian Youniverse}

2 Feb

Rustic Revival

I heart taking random personality tests, self-assessments, and surveys.  Hmmm, come to think of it, maybe I just like taking tests in general.  That’s why I became a teacher-so I could give them.  Anyway, while clearing out my Internet Favorites (cause Feb. 8 is “Clean Off Your Computer Day!”), I came across a folder of “Quizzes.” Specifically, a lot of home décor and artsy type stuff.  I won’t subject anyone to my Meyers Briggs or “Kissing Style.” ::Smooch::

Like this one from Sproost.

Simply rate a picture from “Love It” to “Hate It” and get a percentage of your overall style categories.  Just looking at the pictures is worth taking the quiz.  Uber inspiration.

I’m mostly Cottage Chic, with a splash of Rustic Revival and pinch of Nantucket Style. (Picture Emeril here).  What’s that mean?

Who says that cottages can’t be modern and chic? Who says that they have to be floral and cheesy? Not you! You love the carefree spirit that the cottage interior inspires, but you are also serious about your appreciation for modern art and hip treasures. You have a great sense of humor when it comes to design and even like to make fun of the style itself. Which means that you will throw in a toy boat or a vintage life preserver to keep the mood of the place just like the color: light!

Maybe that’s why this is one my favorite pieces in our apartment? I found this diecast squirrel on clearance at Target shortly after getting married.  The hubs and I have an inside thing about squirrels, so I picked it up for him.  He’s supposed to hold a candle, but we decided he was hungry and gave him a few nuts.  He does a great job of hiding our webcam so we can Skype more easily.

Man! I don’t think dust is supposed to be on my color palette…better get out the Swiffer.

In terms of color, colors found at the beach or the sea-white, beige, grays, blues, greens, browns are best.   Keep the walls and furniture neutral and accent with natural color. A balance of rustic and modern, old and new, found/made and bought. Pair a rustic table with a modern vase, or a modern-lined couch with a cable knit throw. Add lots of wood, and a few metal accents.  Pair a satin pillow with a leather one.  Balance the seagrass rug by placing it under a modern dining set. 

 

 

And “Find Your Style” from IKEA’s business website. 

Again with the Country Rustic.  This tells me to use a combination of styles and pay special attention to details, like texture.  I honestly have been walking around saying, “This room needs more texture!”  So I’ll say this quiz is pretty accurate, too.

 

Try this one from the ISCD-International School of Color and Design

I wouldn’t say that the categories are very accurate, but the descriptions seem true enough.  Again, I like textures and details and I like a collection of pieces displayed in new ways. And they called me confident and authetic-thank-you-very-much.  AND they gave me this cool, personalized magazine image.

 

 

Ethan Allen also has a very good quiz.  Choose the picture that appeals to you the most. Pretty cut and dry.

 

Again, I wouldn’t classify myself at Metro (even though it makes me chuckle…), but reading the description does give some of the same explanations as the others.  Clean. Chic. Clean lines. Blending of textures, without being cliched.  Looking further at the inspiration pictues sways me a bit more to calling this accurate.

 

 

Home Goods has their own quiz, which is pretty good (no pun intended).  This one relies on a few more questions rather than all pictures. It also offers suggestions based on what your “Design Challenge” is and also what “Your Happy Place” is…umm, okay?

Earthy Casual sounds kind of chic, no?  Again with the texture!  I feel like I’m in a Trojan commercial-ribbed for her pleasure.

 

And Discover Your Visual DNA from  Youniverse.  Oh, you know this one drew me in.  For hours.  Hours.  Hours. Not just the typical home decor or art quiz, they also have personality and music quizzes. BUT! It’s so visually inspiring you’ll want to do it all. And it syncs up with facebook-who doesn’t love facebook?!

It tells me that “you like to immerse yourself in another world, switch off and live another life…It doesn’t take much to flare up your imagination.”

So what did I learn from all of these?  I should live in a cottage on the beach, with squirrels, star in Trojan commercials, and flare up my imagination and go to “my happy place”.  I think I missed something somewhere?!

4 Responses to “{Sproost Up My Scandanavian Youniverse}”

  1. Staci Lewis January 17, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Hello this may seem like the weirdest thing EVER. But do you still have that squirrel? My husband has been looking every where for that exact one… I would be willing to pay $20 for it along with shipping…

    • Ashley Niehaus March 1, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Hi, Staci.

      Sorry for the delayed reply. Yes, we do still have it, but he’s become part of the family now, so I couldn’t imagine parting with him! Good luck on your search!

      • Staci March 1, 2012 at 10:32 am #

        Shucks – ok thanks – it was worth a try.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {I’m Sick of Walking Into Doors} « This Girl's Canon - February 4, 2010

    […] want them to be lonely (cause inanimate objects totally have feelings!). They could keep my squirrel company, and add just the right amount of nature and flair to our […]

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

