{I Suck At Sleeping}

1 Feb

Or rather getting to bed on time going to sleep on time.  Last month I set a goal to be in bed by 11:30 every night.  I wasn’t thinking this was going to be a big issue at all; I was aiming mostly for the weekends.  During the week, I was often in bed by 10:30 or so, but reading (or my husband not coming to bed on time) would keep me up well past 11:30.  I never realized how late I stayed up reading.  So how many nights did I actually get to sleep before 11:30? 8.  8!  I only get enough sleep about 25% of the time.  Oh boy does that explain a lot!  So how did I do on my other January goals?  I fared much better…kinda.

January Goals

Take vitamin everyday                                                          A+
Take herbal supplements 3x/day                                      A+
Walk 10 minutes on treadmill 3x/week                          F…like 3 or 4 times total
Eat dinner in at least 3x/week                                            A+ (this is monumental for us)
Buy no bottled water                                                             A+
Be in bed by 11:30 every night                                           F
Read The Omnivore’s Dilemma                                         B (It took longer than expected, and I put it off)
Clean out/consolidate notebooks                                    C
Hang new towel rack in bathroom                                    A+ (I marked, the hubby drilled.)
Make 2nd curtain for tables in craft room                       F
Cancel 2nd cell phone line                                                      F
Streamline bill-pay process                                                  A

Product Image Rethink. Reinvent. Notebook - Olive (5.1x3.6)

My very wise friend told me about a process she is doing where instead of crossing things off of a list, she is making a list of things that she actually accomplishes during the week.  For instance, cooking dinner may be on her to-do list, but upon opening the fridge, she finds that the fridge could use a good cleaning.  So she cleans the fridge, organizes the Tupperware, but doesn’t get around to dinner.  She still accomplishes things, and she’d like to keep track of what those things are!  Brilliant!

I stole it.

“Other Things” I Accomplished (or am proud of) This Month

  1. Regifted a lamp
  2. Regifted some floor pillows
  3. Sold a TV, DVD player, and 2 desk chairs on Craig’s List
  4. Volunteered for an extra project at work-causing me to work a few night hours
  5. Read Gung Ho! (a book my husband needed to read for work…I don’t recommend it)
  6. Made about 50 cards
  7. Started a blog!
  8. Kept the house exceptionally clean and the laundry done
  9. Organized Home décor items that were in the attic, the office, and the dining room into one place
  10. Cleaned the oven (this was a 2 day process after not reading the directions on the back of the pizza box closely enough…if it says put it on the tray-put it on the tray!)

I feel successful enough with my January goals to set some February goals. I’m leaving the vitamins on, cause I think it helped me to see a reminder every day.  The bottled water is successfully engrained, so it can be replaced with a new goal.

February Goals

Take vitamin everyday
Take herbal supplement 3x/day
Walk 10 minutes 3x/week (if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again)
Eat dinner in at least 4x/week
Take Valentine’s Day cards to local nursing home or school
Mail a card to a friend via snail-mail
Bed by 11:00 on weekdays, 11:30 on weekends
File Taxes (we do our own)
Read I Just Want My Pants Back
Make 2nd curtain for tables in craft room
Renew Passport (I’ve been working on this since my wedding in 2008 ::sigh::)
Make “Easter Baskets” to send to the troops

While I’m reflecting back on January, I thought it would be fun to keep track of other events that were important to us.

Like, we got hooked on The Bachelor.  How?  I really don’t know.  It’s like a trainwreck-I can’t look away.  Do girls REALLY act like this?  Are guys REALLY this bland?! And that girl Michelle is one creepy chic.

We’re also hooked on The Vampire Diaries.  I’m not surprised.   I like Dawson’s Creek.  I like Twilight (books).  It’s the best of both worlds. I haven’t read the books, but I don’t think I want to.  From what I’ve read, the TV series is one of those rare instances where the reinvention is better than the original.

Of course, I’m tuning in to American Idol.  I secretly wish I were musical, but glad that I didn’t make 7th grade show choir and someone FINALLY told me I couldn’t sing, or I’d probably be one of those weird people who demanded my mama and daddy said I could sing and you must put me through to Hollywood!

We did go to the movies to see The Princess and the Frog, and while I liked it, I don’t think it lived up to the hype.  What happened to classic Disney songs that you couldn’t get out of your head for days and days?  We also watched Gattaca via Netflix, and I liked it.  Eric watched Clueless-he completely missed the ‘90’s and is currently reliving them. 

Am I the only one who thinks January FLEW by?

Oh, and LOVE the notebook above? Target for $10 bucks!

One Response to “{I Suck At Sleeping}”

  1. Eric February 1, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Loved it!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

