{Scraps Make Me Smile}

13 Jan

One of my goals this month is to clean out some of the clutter.  The hubby and I have actually done a great job of nixing most of the clutter, but there are a few areas where we are overhoarders.  For me, its crafting supplies, mostly scrapbooking items.  I bought baby themed scrapping items in high school, because, well, one day dammit I might just possibly be a mommy.  I have Communion and Rosary stickers, because…I actually don’t know where those came from.  I still have leftover prom embellishments…from 2003. I’ve donated and sold a lot of items through Craigslist, but there are some items I just don’t want to part with.  They’re too cute.  But, they can’t stay.  So after stumbling across these uber-fun card sets here, I got inspired to make my Valentine’s Day cards and created a challenge for myself.  I could only use what was in my “scrap drawer”, and whatever didn’t get used, was getting thrown out (I don’t like to throw stuff out so I will use every centimeter of ribbons and slivers of paper).  In the case of brads, adhesives, and other random things, I tried to only use stuff that I’ve had for more than a few years.  It worked well because I used up a few different types of ribbons, a few pieces of scrap cardstock, and 4 pieces of scrap patterned paper.  I was also forced to keep things somewhat minimalistic, which was refreshing.

 

I deem these “man cards”, cause wouldn’t they be the perfect Vday card for a man?  Or a gal with strong feelings on Valentine’s day.  No pink frills.  No lace. No sappy sentiments.  After I made these, I immediately thought of a friend who would love them (I hope!).

 

These are a bit more “traditional”.  I saved the pinks and reds for last, thinking they would be the most fun.  But, nope.  I am now a convert to orange and yellow for Valentine’s day henceforth.  I’ve totally been in a yellowy-orangey-springy mood lately.  Now, to find a good home for these cards…and maybe recreate some of those fabulous babies above…you’re the cheese to my macaroni, the milk to my coco puffs, and sprinkles to my sundae…

2 Responses to “{Scraps Make Me Smile}”

  1. Angela January 14, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    The cards are awesome…..but I love the intention behind them even more! What a great exercise.

    A thought for what to do with them…think troops. A friend of a friend has been sending blank cards to troops primarily stationed overseas for them to send to loved ones in the states. When I make it to the clean out stage in my organizational goals, I’m sending some of the cards to them. Just an idea!

    • Ashley Niehaus January 14, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      Angela.

      Thanks for the shout-out! And the great idea. I actually contacted Lisa from MUM to see if her son was still engaged in active duty. Does your friend have a certain organization that they work with that is close to their heart?

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

