Online Book Club: December

4 Jan

This month’s book was NurtureShock: New Thinking About Children.

I’ve heard so much buzz about this book over the last two years, and I think it lived up to the hype.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t life-changing, and a lot of the research presented wasn’t new to me (I touched on a lot of it in college <–education major, holla!), but I appreciated the expansion and the  connections made to different studies.  It reminded me a lot of Freakonomics.  In fact, the hubby and I decided to read this together, and by together, I mean book-on-wife. :)

Each chapter brings up a common parenting practice, i.e. praising children, developing their language, or talking about race relations.  Most parents have a commonly held belief about the best way to build self-esteem, enrich vocabulary, or reduce bias; however, research does not support these methods: you can praise kids too much, Baby Einstein videos are detrimental, and teenagers like to fight with their parents.

A lot of the research was common sense…after you read it–it makes you think, “yes, yes, of course!”  But it takes seeing it print to make the intended impact.  This isn’t a “parenting strategies” book, but rather a critical thinking book.

I would definitely recommend this as a top read for parents, and it’s a really nice read to discuss with a spouse (especially one who loves statistics).

Hop on over to AlphaMom to join the discussion on various topics from the book.

2 Responses to “Online Book Club: December”

  1. Giselle Schroer January 5, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    This sounds like an interesting read. I’m going to pin it so I’ll remember to read it later. I just got a stack of books from Barnes and Nobles I’ve got to get through first :-) Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halfway There | This Girl's Canon - July 2, 2013

    […] I talked about this book here. […]

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

